Gibraltar Chess 2013

The traditional Gibraltar Chess Festival is going to take place 21-31 January, 2013. Seven players from the 2700 club are headliners in this year’s event. Top seeded is Vassily Ivanchuk, who won the 2011 Gibraltar Masters with 9,0/10 with a rating performance of 2968. His main competitors are the heroes of Gibtelecom 2010, Gata Kamsky and Michael Adams. Back then Kamsky scored an impressive and unbeaten 7½/10 in the Gibraltar Masters with a TPR of 2719 to finish shared first, while Adams won the title after tiebreaks.

GM Vassily Ivanchuk

GM Vassily Ivanchuk (Photo credit: karpidis)

The other participants from the 2700 club will be Anand’s second and winner of the 2011 Gyorgy Marx memorial Radoslaw Wojtaszek, the top French player and recent winner of European Blitz Chess Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, the legendary Alexei Shirov, and the number-one ranked player in Vietnam and the 39th strongest active player in the world Le Quang Liem.

A total of 233 players are going to play in the Masters group together with the 2700+ ELO favorites.

via Susan Polgar Chess Daily News and Information: Gibraltar Chess 2013.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s